<< back to Faculty

Kelly Ablard

Kelly Ablard, PhD, RA®, EOT®, MIFPA

Co-Principal, Essence of Thyme College of Holistic Studies

🌐 Airmid Institute

Kelly Ablard, PhD, RA®, EOT®, MIFPA

Registered Aromatherapist (RA®) | Essential Oil Therapist (EOT®) | PhD 

Kelly Ablard, PhD, RA®, EOT®, MIFPA holds a Doctorate in Biology, an MSc in Conservation, a BSc in Biology (cum laude), and is a certified aromatherapist. As a Community Scientist for Science World, and founder of the Vancouver Community College Urban Apothecary Learning Garden, she is enthusiastic about teaching the public and students about traditional medicine and the deeply-rooted relationship between medicinal and aromatic plants and the animal kingdom. As founder and Executive Director of Airmid Institute, she is dedicated to the global education, research, and conservation of medicinal and aromatic plants, and to protecting and promoting their use in traditional medicine in Indigenous communities.

Kelly’s work has been published in numerous peer-reviewed journals. She has been a guest presenter and lecturer for multiple professional aromatherapy associations including NAHA, IFPA, AIA, CAOA, ICAA, and ICAN. Her areas of expertise include education, conservation aromatherapy, plant conservation genetics, sustainability, and plant communication. Kelly has also been featured on several podcasts such as An Aromatic Life, Aromatic Plant Wisdom, Aromatic Chat, LabAroma, and Maria’s Aromatic Cafe, and she had the great pleasure of being interviewed by Robert Tisserand, Rhiannon Lewis, and the writers of the movie Uncommon Scents.

Kelly has received the BCAOA Achievement of Excellence Award and has been awarded multiple grants for her in situ and ex situ research which has been carried out all over the world. She served for over a decade on the CAOA (formerly BCAOA) Board, a term with the United Plant Savers, and was a Co-Founder and Chair of the International Committee on Sustainability of Aromatic Plants and Essential Oils Used in Aromatherapy and Natural Perfumery.